Chapter 3

CHAPTER 3

By the time I finished explaining my dream, Nev’s mouth was hanging open and her eyes were as wide as golf balls. “COOL!” She exclaimed. “COOL?! But, what if it was actually real?” I said quietly. She looked at me and laughed. “Really, Shy? That’s impossible. We don’t have powers. And were nothing special.” She said. I looked down. “No offense, of course.” She added, holding up her hands. Still looking down, I muttered, “Right.” I then stood up. “Wanna fix breakfast?” I asked. Nevaeh nodded and followed me downstairs. Once we got downstairs, I

entered kitchen. I noticed a note on the fridge. It read:

Food’s in the fridge and Pantry.

  • Mom

I nodded and turned to Nevaeh. “What’s for breakfast?” She asked as she sat down at the bar. I walked over to the pantry and stared at the little ingredients we had. “Well… looks like we have enough stuff to make pancakes…” I said not quite confidently. She walked over beside me and stared at the near-empty pantry. “Why don’t we just have Pop-tarts?” She laughed and raised her eyebrows. I stared at her disapprovingly. “Fine. Breakfast the easy way…” I muttered.

After breakfast we got ready and went into the living-room to decide what we were going to do for the first day of Summer vacation.

Why don’t we go to the park?” I suggested. Nevaeh pondered this.

OK!” She exclaimed quickly. We both laughed and got our things so we could leave. While I was locking the door behind me, I saw a man walking a dog and I smiled. I loved animals. I turned back to the keyring in my hand then suddenly did a double-take to the man I had saw on the sidewalk. I finished locking the door, and turned to Nevaeh.

Nev! That’s the man from my dream!” I whispered. She looked around until she saw the man that was now about to sit on a bench and read a newspaper he had in his hand. Nevaeh had a puzzled look on her face.

Funny…” She muttered “When you described him, I imagined him a little bit paler. And taller…”

Never mind, that!” I replied. “Well… what do you wanna do? Go up there and ask him about your ‘powers’?” She teased. I bit my lip.

No… but I wanna follow him..” 

Leave a Reply

